August 21, 2012

  • cats and smoking. . .

    I've been trying to quit smoking on and off for a long time now, without any success.  I think I may have finally stumbled on the motivation I need to succeed in quitting smoking.  As I finished reading the book "Dewey" about a library cat in Iowa, I came to the realization that I really, really wanted another cat.  I had been half-heartedly considering getting another cat for months, but reading that book made me realize how much I really do want to bring another cat into the house.  I have plenty of room and means to care for another cat.  There are only two issues to be sorted out with bringing another cat into the house.  First, I have been feeling incredibly guilty about the fact that my smoking affects my cats.  There haven't been any actual issues that have arisen, yet, but I know it's no more healthy for them to be exposed to my second-hand smoke than it is for me to be smoking.  The other issue is just what cat to get, meaning it has to be specific things in order to successfully incorporate into a house already occupied by cats.  That one was pretty easy.  It has to be a boy, it has to be a kitten not an adult cat, and it has to be a long-haired kitten.  The first two, boy and kitten, have the best chance at bonding with my other cats - the last one, long-haired, is my own personal preference to keep shedding down.  I have one short-haired cat and she sheds like crazy, lol.  

    So now I have a goal/motivation for quitting smoking.  My plan is that I cannot, no matter what, get another cat until I have successfully quit smoking and squirreled away the money to have the kitten fixed when it's time.  So tonight I'm finishing my last pack of cigarettes.  I had already started looking at kittens at the local shelter, but I've promised myself I won't do that again until I've gone at least 7 days without a cigarette so I don't ambush my plan by finding the perfect kitten too soon.  However, I do already have the first name of the new kitten picked out.  All my cats have two names, and they are all South African Zulu names with the second names all starting with Z.  When I got my last kitten, Kaya, I had planned on naming "him" Sipho, but after the vet got "him" all cleaned up we discovered it was actually a "she".  She was found outside, abandoned, sick and injured which is why we couldn't tell the sex until she was all cleaned up.  Sipho means "gift" and since this kitten will be a gift to myself for successfully quitting smoking I think it's a fine fit.  The second name will have to start with a Z to go with my current pride of cats, but I'm going to hold off on picking that one after I get the kitten.  heart

Comments (7)

  • This is great news, and I know you can kick the smoke.  It really is only fair to your best friends, to give them. and yourself, a clean-air home.

  • It is good you will get a cat. Maybe you'll be going to the animal rescue center and save a cat from the shelter?

    Good luck in your plans. Some people don't like getting dogs because when they want to visit you, there is no privacy. Cats will not bother you much if you shut the door.

  • Good luck, sweetie.  Great motivation!

  • good luck with quitting

  • How about Zahara! You will enjoy having another kitten.

  • @RighteousBruin - @godfatherofgreenbay - @DrummingMediocrity - Thanks for the encouragement, day one has gone pretty good.  :)

    @PPhilip - Thanks!  I have cats already, love them, and I always get them from rescue shelters.  :)

    @angys_coco - Zahara seems a little off for a boy since it means "shining flower", but I was thinking of Zahir which is a boy's name and means "shining".  Looks like we think alike!  :)

  • Well that's a great inspiration to work for!  Me, I'd wish for a Himalayen.  They're the most perfectly beautiful cat I can think of.  As for saving up money to have it fixed, wormed, and innoculated, why not save the money you'd ordinarily use to buy cigarrettes?  You'll have enough in no time.  Post pictures here of your kitten when you get it?  I love kitty mug shots!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *