March 16, 2013

  • 7 months without posting to Xanga!

    Wow!  Where does the time go?  There used to be a time when I was always posting on Xanga, then it started dwindling, but I think 7 months is the longest I've gone without updating my Weblog.  My last post was in September 2012 and it's now March 16 - hmmm, I do see a correlation with when my Seasonal Affective Disorder kicks in and admittedly it was bad enough this time around that I decided to take Buproprion for the depression - and in the hopes of quitting smoking, which still has not happened.  I also got involved with a couple of different murder cases (I'm on WebSleuths and a couple of other similar sites that discuss crime).  One of the cases was local, like *really* local as in right here in N. St. Paul where the teenage daughter of an old high school friend of mine was stabbed to death by her boyfriend.  So tragic.  I don't have a lot to say though as I don't do much in the winter, plus I bought a few computer games and ended up hooked on those, lol.  I have cabin fever, that's for sure.  It snowed again tonight.  I'm going to see Iris Dement in concert on April 6, I hope the snow is gone by then.  

    Oh yeah, 2 weeks ago I scratched my cornea by accidentally poking myself in the eye with a makeup brush.  This should have healed up in approximately 3 days, but no, not with me of course!  It happened on a Saturday evening, went to the doctor on Monday, ended up back at the doctor on Thursday, then the ophthalmologist the same day.  Then I was started on antibiotic eyedrops and told to go to urgent care over the weekend if it was getting worse, otherwise follow up on Monday.  Ended up going to urgent care on Saturday, had to go back again when the ophthalmologist finally got there.  He dilated my eye which made it feel better, and he said it looked like it was getting better to him.  Then at my followup on Monday I ended up seeing a different ophthalmologist than the one I had first seen and he said it looked like it was getting better too, except I was still having a lot of pain.  Went back again for another followup on Thursday and was able to see the first ophthalmologist who saw me.  He said it's not getting better and this is worrisome, so now I'm on steroid eyedrops and have another followup on Monday.  He did tell me that if the steroids were going to work I would notice a dramatic difference the first day or so.  I started the drops Thursday night and Friday was the first time since this injury happened that I woke up and my eye was actually pain-free and felt fine.  Hopefully I really am healing this time.

    I haven't gotten any more cats, or other pets, lol.  This is a dangerous possibility when I have a bout of depression, but my best friend kept me in line this time around, though we did stop at the pet store last Saturday, in-between urgent care visits, to look at the cats up for adoption.  

    Anyway, just thought I'd drop in and say hi!  Hopefully my desire to blog will pick up again, but if not I am still reading and commenting, so you might see me around.  :)

    NoMoreSnow (1)

Comments (2)

  • Eye, eye, Melissa. I suppose if ever I scratch my eye, I certainly will not take treatment for granted.

    Thanks for a followup blog.

  • Send all your snow to me.  Please and thank you.  

    Glad to see you around.  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *