Month: February 2012

  • The Versatile Blogger. . .

    versatile-award1

    So I actually got tagged for something.  :)  I haven't been around much lately - lots going on.  Anyway, here are the rules:

    Rules: Thank the award giver and link them in your post.
    Share seven things about yourself.
    Pass this award along to blogs that you enjoy reading.
    Contact your chosen bloggers, let them know, and post the award picture.

    First, thanks goes to godfatherofgreenbay for tagging me.  I love reading his blog, especially Caturdays, and I've never been so caught up on celeb news before, lol.

    Now, 7 things about myself:

    1.  I just bought my first brand new car.  No one else has owned this car, it's all mine.  It's a 2012 Chevy Sonic, 4 door/hatchback.  And I even managed to get it in my favorite color, orange.  I named it "Sookie" from the True Blood series, lol.

    2.  I am (embarrassingly) addicted to Farmville.  However, I am a considerate player in that I created a fake FB account and only have other Farmville players on that account so I don't bug my real friends with all the FV posts.  I'm not too caught up in the quests and masteries any longer, mostly I just like to work on landscaping my farms and making them look pretty.

    3.  I work from home as a medical transcriptionist.  It's a really great job and I get to do it in my jammies, save on gas and clothes expenses, and sleep until 10 minutes before I start my shift.  However, many people are under the impression that since I work from home I can pretty much flex my schedule any way I want or goof off all day - this is not true, I work set days/hours and because it's transcription every keystroke is tracked and they would easily know if I were goofing off instead of working.

    4.  In high school I took French because I had read that if you want to learn African languages you should learn French first.  All I wanted in high school was to graduate, join the Peace Corp and eventually live in South Africa.  I was so disappointed when I found out that in order to join the Peace Corp you had to go to college or join the military first.  The military was out and I didn't get to finish college so my life ended up going in a different direction, though I still have high hopes of someday seeing South Africa, although I've managed to forgot most of the French I learned in high school.  

    5.  My social anxiety/fear of public speaking actually led to me dropping out of high school in the second half of my junior year because at my school "speech" was a non-elective credit and I refused to do it.  I wanted only to transfer schools, however, open enrollment didn't happen for another year and I had to get permission from the principal of my current school in order to transfer, which of course she would not grant permission.  Once open enrollment was instated I transferred to a different school, made the B honor roll, and was able to take business and law classes that helped in my current career and my passion with law.  In my case, dropping out of high school turned out to be a good thing.  

    6.  I am terrified of heights and flying.  Once when my brother and I were teenagers we were heading over the "high bridge" to go to the Taste of Minnesota and halfway across I made the mistake of looking over the edge.  I totally panicked and froze and my brother literally had to carry me off the bridge.  As for flying, I keep trying to overcome my fear by looking out the window when we get close to landing.  It hasn't worked.  In my mind all I can think about is how low we would have to be in order to survive falling out of the plane - which of course makes no sense because even at a low enough height to survive the plane is going too fast to actually survive falling out of it.  

    7.  I once won award from our local newspaper for writing one of the best 25 "letters to the editor" - it was about research funding for stem cell research.

    And finally, my tags:  I'm kind of cheating on this one because I'm obviously so late getting to this that most people on my subscription/friends list have already been tagged or they are no longer really active on Xanga as it's been a while since I updated my lists (and because it's late and I'm really tired, lol) - so as far as I'm concerned if you're reading this and no one has tagged you for this yet, you're tagged so do it!  :)  Hopefully I'll be back around Xanga more often in the near future.