Month: June 2012

  • Take a break from the drama. . .

    Soooooooooo much drama around here lately.  I thought it was about time I did a weblog entry, you know, just to let everyone know I am indeed still alive.  I've been working second shift now since December and I'm still trying to adjust.  I've always been more of a night-owl, but for the years I worked first shift (8:00 to 4:30) I would get to bed around 2:00 a.m. at the latest and all seemed to work out well.  Now that I'm back on second shift (3:00 to 11:30) I've slipped back into my old ways of staying  up until 7:00 or 8:00 a.m. and sleeping most of the day away.  It's a good thing I tore out the garden and laid down grass seed, 'cause gardening at midnight doesn't work so well, lol.  

    Besides working second shift I've been busy still trying to get organized from my move in August.  Yes, it's taking me forever this time around and it's stressing me out a lot because, well, I have OCD about being organized and I feel like I'm floating in a pool of chaos, lol!  I did get my office finished, well almost finished, I'm still organizing the closet and then I need to dust off all the books and CDs as when we sanded we forgot to shut the door the first time and everything ended up covered in a fine dust.  Once it's totally finished I'll post some pictures - I think it turned out great and I'm anxious to get going on the other rooms even though it's quite time-consuming.  

    Now for something much more fun.  I have decided to throw a BBQ this summer, but not just any BBQ party, an 80's themed BBQ party.  The tables will be draped with yellow, hot pink and turquoise table cloths with black and white checkered runners that have colored shapes on them.  I've got some paper lanterns and balloons in the same neon colors with animal prints on them.  I'm working on an 80's soundtrack for the party - and since we now have mp3 technology I'm going to splice the disc with one-liners from 80's teen movies like The Breakfast Club and Pretty In Pink.  And since my parties are themed there is a dress requirement to the theme - so I'll be going as Boy George.  For party favors I've got a start with neon animal print tote bags.  I've found and ordered 2 items for the bags already: 

    Rubik's Cube keychain

    Atari joystick tin filled with gum

    Of course there will be plenty of food, including Pac-Man chips and dip, Jell-O shots and I may attempt to make a Rubik's Cube cake like the one below.

    So what do you think, does it sound like a fun party theme?  Anyone have any other suggestions?