Month: September 2012

  • Need help with a math/science/medical question. . .

    I'm running out of resources to figure this out - math makes my head explode, lol.  Anyway, I participate in Websleuths and we're discussing a case of an amitriptyline overdose. The medical record states that 5 hours after being pronounced dead amitriptyline levels were 7909 ng/mL with nortriptyline levels of 2833 ng/mL.  According to my research amitriptyline breaks down into noritriptyline so this report is stating she still had 7909 ng/mL of amitriptyline in her blood, and the 2833 ng/mL of noritriptyline is broken down amitriptyline.  Basically, I'm trying desperately to figure out how many mg of amitriptyline would have to be ingested to get those levels.  I know this is a long shot, but I also know some of you out there are pretty damn smart and, again, I suck at math, lol.